WELS
Search   for     
History of St. John's
ST. JOHN'S EV. LUTHERAN CHURCH
Battle Creek, Michigan

Organized April 29, 1948, with six voters.
 
PASTORS
 
1. Rev. A.P.C. Kell
1946-49
5. Rev. Louis Meyer
1964-70.
2. Rev. John Brenner
1949-53
6. Rev. Raymond Frey
1971-81
3. Rev. Henry Juroff
1953-58
7. Rev. Steven Mischke
1982-88
4. Rev. Walter Beckmann
1958-63
8. Rev. Cary Grant
1988-pres.
 
 
MILESTONES

1945 - Canvass conducted by Pastors R. W. Scheele, Missionary-at-large, and L. J. Koeninger.
1946 - Large residence purchased and used as parsonage and chapel.
1954 - New lots and parsonage purchased. Ground broken for new church.
1954 - Dec. 5   Church dedicated; cost, $27,000.
1962 - Addition to church dedicated.
1965 - New parsonage dedicated.
1977 – Sanctuary remodeled – oak paneling and carvings
1986 – Exterior of church was covered with aluminum siding.
1987 – Sanctuary aisle and entry way were carpeted.
1995 – Basement remodeled—3 carpeted classrooms were created; one also serves as cry room/nursery. The Men’s and Women’s basement restrooms were also remodeled.
1998 – Celebrated 50 years of God’s grace as a congregation with two special worship services—new video and audio equipment purchased for use in video taping services for shut-ins and for closed circuit TV to nursery/cry room; overhead speakers in back for listening impaired and for musical/organ accompaniment.
1999 – Five ton Trane air conditioner and new Trane furnace installed.
2006 - A handicapped accessible, unisex bathroom was constructed on the first floor of the church, using existing space in the foyer.
2008 - A new, larger, lighted outdoor church sign was installed on the previous sign base as part of the church's 60th anniversary.  The sign boasts four lines with 6" lettering.
2015 - New Handicap Ramp and entrance dedicated November 8, 2015.
2015 - New Bell and Bell Tower dedicated November 8, 2015.
2016 Beautification of the church property with new flower beds being planted along the entrance ramp and the sides of the church building.